Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | December 5, 2008

Lagniappe: Stream of Consciousness Post

Haven’t posted in a while; surprise, surprise.

Been doing a lot of writing though. Being without work left me a chance to focus on my school work. I am trying to move my degree timeline from December 2009 to May 2009.

I continue to be amazed at how time consuming and hard Job Hunting is. I guess it has to do with the fact that we ‘know’ how to do our jobs, so a 50 hour week for a company or client isn’t as hard as searching for a job.

Started Polishing off the book idea again yesterday, pulled up my outline, reviewed it, made some changes. Re-read the first chapter – decided that I’m now smarter than I was 3 years ago when I last worked on it.

Finished a English paper on The Identity of Self in a Romantic Relationship based on the short stories The Story of an Hour, Hills Like White Elephants, and How to Talk to a Hunter – I think it’s pretty good, we’ll see what the instructor thinks.

Spent a few days in Louisiana and can honestly say that as I get older, my family means even more to me. My relationship with my siblings only gets better with age. Maybe we’ve all gotten old enough to realize that most of our ‘issues’ are trivial.

My mom looks good and healthy, she is turning 29 in December, I think it’s the 41rst time she’s turned 29.

Went to the Zoo in Baton Rouge – nice to see it coming back – I hadn’t been there since Senior Skip Day (1986). We saw the animals, and we played “RedLight.” The simple things mean more than the complex things, my mom told me “One day those kids are going to remember playing “Redlight” at the zoo” – even the adults got involved. It was one of those moments were the world and time stood still for me.

I’m thinking I’m going to ask my wife to buy “us” a brick at the under construction Elephant walk at the Baton Rouge Zoo for Christmas. Maybe it’s being at home, but I think leaving a legacy is starting to pass up the “gadget of the year” as highest on my priority list.

Have the Application to become a High School Referee filled out, need to send it in. Figured while I’m out it would be a “little bit” of income, but a whole lot of exercise.

Ditto on becoming a substitute teacher.

Leave a Reply

Categories

