Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | June 25, 2008

Career: Does Anyone Like their Job Anymore?

I’ve been thinking the last few days that I don’t know if I know anyone right now who loves or even likes their job.

There are at least a dozen (employed) individuals who I know who are actively searching, but the thing that is somewhat depressing is that even the majority of them don’t seem like they expect the next job to be something they like or love.

Maybe it’s the economy or the general malaise the work force seems to have put into everyone lately, but I can remember when parties used to be about my friends telling me all the ‘cool’ things they were doing at work.

I would be happy to hear one of those stories right now.

Responses

  1. imho, EVERYONE should ALWAYS be searching!

    Kaizen activities continually improve all functions of a business. Wage slaves have to change their paradigm (i.e., how they see themselves) and their memes (i.e., what can I do to improve my skills, my UVP, my USP).

    If you’re happy with your ‘job’, you REALLY REALLY don’t understand what your job really is. It’s to find your ‘next’ job! Whatever that may be. Even if you want to remain a ‘wage slave’, your ‘job’ is to ensure you still get a ‘wage’ for that ‘slaving’.

    Lest some one think that a ‘wage slave’ is ‘more secure’ than being ‘consutlant’, then you really have to check your paradigms and memes for age. The day of the ‘golden watch’ are long long gone. ‘Loyalty’ … please don’t make me laugh.

  2. typo your should be you’re

  3. I fixed the type of you 🙂

    Also, I understand what your saying and agree, but what I’m more concerned with is even when you realize you’re a “slave” to the “wages”, it is still nice to enjoy what you do to some extent. I’m just lamenting that I remember a time when a lot of my friends enjoyed the “slave labor.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

