Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | May 25, 2008

Networking: Non-Traditional Networking – Part 9

This is Part 9 of a ?? Part Series on Non-Traditional Networking Ideas:

**** The HOME Network ******

One of the most overlooked place to network is often the closest to us. That is the role of your spouse or significant other in your business network.

I was recently reminded of this by a job posting I found on the kitchen counter when I came home. Being as the spouse was already in bed; I read the job posting and was starting to wonder if my spouse had started a job search without my “infinite” wisdom. Ha! Ha! was I wrong.

Turns out the posting was sent to her by a friend who is searching for a job and was looking for any info that my wife might be able to get about the company (unnamed, but a lot of hints like location, industry, etc).

It occurred to me that though my wife and I talk multiple times everyday on extremely important things like the children, school, and finance; we rarely take time to compare notes on our business networks and who or how we can help other people.

Well as figured, she is much smarter than I am, and said she left it out because she KNEW I couldn’t resist trying to figure out who the company was. Actually I do have a few ideas, but more importantly I have a couple of recruiter buddies that I think probably have their pulse on the job in question because it’s in their area of expertise.

I guess I need to make more time to look at our networks a little closer to home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

