Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | May 21, 2008

Reading: “It Happened in Church” by F John Reinke (www.reinkefaceslife.com)

F John started a survival fiction story on his blog recently ( a few months ago ).

I followed the first few chapters with curiosity to determine where he was going with it.

I followed the next dozen chapters thinking to myself that “ok, this is pretty cool, but he can’t be seriously thinking of turning this into a novel or whatever you would call a novel constructed on a blog”

Then at some unidentified point, I became hooked on the characters and have actually invested in what is going to happen to them. I don’t think I realized how much I had invested until one fateful day he didn’t post the most recent chapter. I promptly sent him an email asking “what’s up”!!

So with no further words from me, check out the link below to chapter 1 and if you hang with the first few chapters, I think you will enjoy it as well.

http://reinkefaceslife.com/2008/03/22/writing-teotwawki-story-it-happened-in-church-october-19-1962/

Responses

  1. Thanks for the kind words.

    Maybe I can be the next James Patterson and we can get together when Oprah flies me in to Chicago to do her book club.

    Hey even Big FOWG Turkeys have dreams of soaring like eagles.

    No secret; I want into a funk late last year. I was kabitzing over at ‘frugal squirrels’ and they encouraged me to post some of my stories.

    I had a dozen of so; more outlines than stories.

    When blogging, I transcribed what I called ‘index card novels’. I tried to write a story on an index card. What else can one do in the doc or hospital or any waiting rooms?

    So I put them over on the forum and they went nuts. They liked them. Encouraged me to do more and longer.

    The rest is what you are reading.

    Thanks for the plug!

  2. FJ,

    I hate being mushy so I will keep this short. Their are a lot of us Turkeys out there who have considered you an Eagle for a long time.

  3. So that puts me in the hole minus two stokes? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

