Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | May 19, 2008

Career Development: The “One Day a Quarter” Rule

I realized recently that I have previously referred to my “One Day a Quarter” rule, but have never posted the rule here on the blog.

The origin of the rule came from when I was “Managing.” I recommended to each of my employees that they use 1 day a quarter to make a T-account of the Credits(Benefits) and Debits (Risks) of working for the company. They could then if they desired come and sit with me over lunch or in the office to discuss all the positives and negatives of their particular situation. My only request in turn was that if the chart came up with the positives outweighing the negatives that they promise to not be a “negative” influence in the office or on the job. It is important to note that I never made anyone use a vacation day or personal day for this, I thought it provided the company benefits in that we would have a more highly motivated work force. I think it worked very well.

Over the years, I’ve tried to apply the same rule to myself as it relates to my career and current position. I now make a focused ‘day’ or sometimes more of a weekend about determining what are the positives and negatives of my present career choices. If the choices come out with more positives than negatives I tell myself to “Shut up! and get back to work.” If the negatives outweigh the positives, it’s time to actively pursue a different or new opportunity.

Leave a Reply

Categories

