Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | January 6, 2008

Networking: Do You have a Unique way to Measure Success?

This thought came from watching a show about inventors. Can’t remember which show or the company it was talking about, but it was a micro-brew beer from New York state.

During the show, one of the co-creators mentioned that they had always joked that the way to know if they had made it wasn’t going to be the checking or saving accounts or found anywhere in their company, but simply by when they were able to get out in a parking lot and find a bottle cap from their beer laying on the ground.

According to this gentleman, he found one when stopping at a small grocery store about 18 months into the new venture. He has the bottle cap in his office.

So being the thinker I am, it makes me wonder, how do I measure my success as a networker. Is it the size of my contact list or Linked In network? Nope not creative enough, and size doesn’t matter.

So what I think I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s based on Participation Request (ie: Mary McFarlin recruited me to co-moderate linkedinchicago), referrals from other sources as someone to go to for help, and the request for opinions on topics, resumes, etc.

My logic (hopefully not incorrect) is that people don’t waste time asking for your help if they don’t think you are capable and willing. That’s all I ever wanted out of my network, people to perceive and receive value from me and have the capability and willingness to return that value at some point in the future.

Now I need a way to track it so I can measure what is working and what isn’t.

What about you? How do you measure success in your networking activities?

Responses

  1. I try, operative word is try, to measure “liveliness” of of different components of my “network” (i.e., LinkedIn, f2f-ers, alums, friends, past coworkers) in “day outstanding” (since last contact) s an indicator of, or proxy for, “ready to use”. Ugly? Manual! Meaningful? Who knows?


Leave a Reply

Categories

