Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | June 5, 2007

Career Development: News Flash: Your Company doesn’t like you!!

As with a number of things here on the Blog, I tend to discuss what has recently been on my mind or in my regular life.

This is from a conversation I had with a co-worker. Now I’m not being as negative as you might think from the line before, because the line could have just as easily been “Your Company doesn’t hate you!!”

The point of the discussion is that the COMPANY has no feelings, it’s an inanimate object that is made up only on paper. Obviously the company has a culture, which may or may not fit with your expectations. It has individuals who hold leadership roles whom may or may not like you, but ultimately the COMPANY has none of these emotions.

I have had a number of people tell me that it is a negative way to look at the employment situation, but I actually think it is a positive way to look at it.

If you view yourself as an asset, then you can ultimately control your destiny by making yourself more valuable. If you view yourself as needing to be “liked”, then you are putting your career on the line based on the fickle feelings of individuals.

By understanding and embracing the concept that you are an asset, you can work to “appreciate” in value, you can make sure you don’t become a liability (cost more than your value), and you can continue to work with aligning your actions with the bottom line.

As a consultant this is fairly easy for me to see, I have a few major points to “Align” myself. 1) Am I billing and 2) Am I doing my job well enough to make the customer want to utilize myself or my Colleagues more and 3) am I looking for opportunities to add further functional value (up sell) to the customer.

So don’t think so much about whether you company “appreciates” you; instead think of how much you can “appreciate” as an asset.

Responses

  1. Lane –

    Great points!

    A new tagging meme is going around, and I’ve tagged you. I got tagged by Moises Lopez.

    Good luck with this challenge.

    Troy from NotJobs


Leave a Reply

Categories

