Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | May 31, 2007

Career Development: A daily schedule for the “OUTED” Turkey

When I was out (8 months starting in May of 2005) , I quickly learned that I needed more structure than even when I had a job to keep me from giving in to despair.

I recently thought of this when replying to a networker/job seeker’s email. Thought I’d share it here.

For what it’s worth, here is the little daily calendar:

Anyway, I quickly learned to make a weekly calendar of my job search, and allowed for a few things to do: went something like this:

6:00-7:00 AM – Get kids ready and bring to school (heck my wife was making the income, I had to be useful somehow)
7:00-7:30 AM – Check out the news/eat breakfast
7:30-9:00 AM – Email, Execunet forum time, other networking forums that I participated in ( I was and still am a big fan of Dave Opton and Execunet, this is where several of my trusted advisors come from, including the Big Turkey)
9:00-10:00 AM – Morning calls ( either priority calls to recruiters, etc. or if none, then calls to old friends )
10:00 – 11:30 AM – Job searches online
11:30 – 1:00 PM – Lunch and often a Tivo’d copy of the Equalizer or Law and Order (de-stress time)
1:00 – 2:30 PM – Afternoon calls ( same as morning calls, but later in the day )
2:30 – 3:30 – UVP, USP, UVP, USP, Elevator Speech – (I DID THIS EVERY DAY until it became second nature)
3:30 – 4:30 – Networking and Target company research (LinkedIn, etc.)
4:30 – 8:00 – Pick up kids, dinner, kid’s baths, bedtime routine
8:00 – 10:00 – Spouse time (this was often spent talking about the finances, job search, relocation decisions, opportunities, etc.)

Obviously you may need to break it out based on specific opportunities, but I found putting a structure to it really made it feel more like a job with a target to attain, not like a rudderless search.

Good hunting!!

Responses

  1. Don’t forget two tiny time slots between 0730-0745 and 1715-1730 to get to key people without he gatekeepers keeping you on the wrong side of the gate!

    the big fat old turkey hisself


Leave a Reply

Categories

