Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | April 27, 2007

Networking: Blog-a-view: Mary McFarlin

Mary McFarlin was nice enough to be a guinea pig of sorts as I am trying out another new feature, the Blog-a-view.  I’m hoping to continue adding creative and talented networkers that I know or have been introduced to in hopes that we can get to know them better. Mary of course fits all the qualifications.  She’s talented, creative, energetic, and boundless in her enthusiasm.  Her work with LinkedIn Chicago stands on it’s own. No more of me, here it goes:

  Networking Interview for“Connecting the World One Beverage at a Time” 

Name: Mary McFarlin 

Title: Senior Program Manager 

Company:  

Now the good stuff: 

 

Are you an active networker, if so, what types of networking or networking forums are you most active in?

 I am always networking.  It is a great joy for me to connect with people and to help people connect to each other.  I believe this comes from really caring about people and growing up in a small community.  Where I grew up, no-one really had to ask for help.  We looked out for each other, did what it took, and didn’t need to be rewarded for doing so.  It just plain feels good.  I moderate a group called LinkedInChicago and I am very active in building this community.   

What is the best Networking Story you can share?

I networked my way into setting up an international business plan for the World Trade Center.  

How would you describe your networking style?

I just feel good doing it and don’t worry about the return.  

Who is the one person (dead or alive) you’d most like to have a “BEVERAGE” with? Why? My Grandpa…he was the kindest and wisest man I ever met.  I strive for his grace 

Who is the “Best Networker” you’ve ever met? Why?

My friend Ali in Munich.  He is a natural and never forgets a name.  He nurtures his contacts constantly. 

What are your “Passions”?

International travel and meeting people.  Of course I love to socialize.   

Most Recent good book you’ve read?

I love Alexander McCall Smith.  The last one was Tears of the Giraffe 

What type of people would you like to connect with?

People who get it!!!  Mostly they are fun, smart, kind and informed 

Do you blog? Is so Blog name?

Not currently.  Kind of busy with LinkedIn Chicago 

Favorite 3 websites/blog addresses:

Hmmm www.linkedinchicago, soon to be www.linktochicago www.linkedin.com.  I recently started looking at www.secondlife.com .  Seems to be all the rage at the moment 

Give yourself or your company a free plug?  What makes you or it special?

The purpose of this group is to help those that are already doing business in the Chicagoland area as well as to assist those that want to work, do business in, or visit the greater
Chicago area.
 

http://www.linkedinchicago.com   

To get the icon to appear in your LinkedIn profile:  https://www.linkedin.com/e/gis/2835/5A3FA56ABC27/Benefits for group members:

 

  • Accelerate your career through referrals from group members

  • See a list of all your fellow group members

  • Search within your group for vital new contacts

  • Communicate directly with fellow members

  • Learn about future networking events in the
    Chicago area

Thanks for your time.

Lane

Leave a Reply

Categories

