Posted by: G. Lane Cavalier | May 6, 2009

Lagniappe: Oprah and the Big Turkey

Ok, I have toyed with this idea for a while and finally decided what the heck, I would do it.

So this morning, though I’m sure I didn’t do him justice, I submitted the Big Turkey himself to the Oprah Winfrey Show. Mr. Turkey, whether this ever amounts to anything, consider it a small token of thanks.

Here is my submission:

Several years ago I was laid off for the first time. During my search I met an individual named John Reinke. Mr. Reinke was helpful to me in many ways from advice on my resume, to cheerleading, to the proverbial kick in the butt when I needed it. I quickly came to find out that he is one of the most dynamic and caring individuals you can ever find. Not only did he help me, but he has helped hundreds with sound advice, caring, and a hands on perspective of the world that is rarely if ever found.

John’s devotion to helping not only includes his advice and blog, but also led him to create a website just to help members of his “Turkey Farm” , which is how he defines those of us looking for work. It can be found here

http://home.comcast.net/~v2y2r0n27rhj6y/TURKEY/index.htm .

One can only imagine the number of people John has helped find their own way through the maze of job loss, recovery, career development, and many other issues.

His devotion to his wife, family, and Baby Turkeys is unparalleled and leaves me speachless.

A while back, John wrote a book and self published with Lulu.com. The book titled “CHURCH 10-19-62″ can be found at this site
http://www.lulu.com/content/6078286

He once mentioned in passing that maybe one day, someone would read the book and deem it worthy of Oprah’s Book Club. The book stands on its own, I only ask that it be given a review.

Sincerely,

G. Lane Cavalier

Responses

  1. Speechless. Nice to know that I’m appreciated. Even without doing anything for you lately. I’ll let you know if Oprah calls! ROFL, maybe we can both get jobs out of it.

    Now, what have you done about getting your school content on the static pages of your blog. See, don’t try and distract the Turkey Master! I remember my last suggestion. LOL.

  2. [...] PRODUCTIVITY: WOW, I have at least one FAN! http://onebeverage.net/2009/05/06/lagniappe-oprah-and-the-big-turkey   [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

